Family: Phrynosomatidae

The family Phrynosomatidae is comprised of 10 genera and about 125 species that range from North America (southern Canada) to Panama (Pough et al. 1998).  In Idaho, the species of phrynosomatids that occurs the farthest north is the Short-horned Lizard (Phryonsoma douglassii).  This is the most diverse family of Idaho lizards and includes a second species of horned lizard, the Desert Horned Lizard (Phrynosoma platyrhinos) as well as three other species, the Sagebrush Lizard (Sceloporus graciosus), the Western Fence Lizard (Sceloporus occidentalis), and the Side-blotched Lizard (Uta stansburiana). 
Phrynosoma douglassii
(Short-horned Lizard)
Phrynosoma platyrhinos
(Desert Horned Lizard)
Sceloporus graciosus
(Sagebrush Lizard)
Sceloporus occidentalis
(Western Fence Lizard)
Uta stansburiana
(Side-blotched Lizard)

Author: John Cossel Jr.© 1997
Design and Optimization by Ean Harker©1999, 2000.
Adaptation for DAI by Stephen Burton, and Mike Legler ©1999.
Original images provided by Charles R. Peterson and John Cossel Jr.©1998.